The Journey

Last week,* I delivered a mini series of four commissioned paintings based on the travels of my client.

This was a really interesting project because the paintings were all intended for the same room, and were based on the same set of photographs, taken during my client’s walking pilgrimage in Spain; the Camino de Santiago Compostela.

He was good enough to assemble a set of specific photographs, and to categorize them, to be used as the point of inspiration for each of the four pieces. Some were used as color references, while others showed more specific details from landscape and architecture that would be incorporated.

You can check out a few of them here:

We met and went over these pictures together and discussed what he’d like. I made sure to have my sketch book handy so I could show what immediately came to mind. We worked on those a bit and, after our meeting, I sent him more finished sketches of what I intended to paint, (with a warning, of course, that they wouldn’t convey exactly how the final product would look!)

These ‘final’ sketches went back and forth a few times with additions and changes, until it was time to paint! I did the painting completely without sending in-progress photographs, because I think those could make a client quite nervous! The paintings can be pretty ugly before they’re finished! (Lol!)

I sent images via email to the client once I felt they were good to go. He approved and was very happy with them, but we both decided he should see them in person before I varnished. When he did, he noticed a couple of things that he wanted changed. This was no problem as there is still a lot of room to repaint before the final coat of varnish is applied. (The only thing that really can’t be changed is the texture I apply initially as a base coat on the canvas).

The paintings were then varnished as the last step and they are now hanging nicely in his home!

I’ve seen pics, and they look great! However, I will be making a trip over there to see them in person and plan to post an update with pics of the room they’re in within the next few weeks.

Stay tuned! 🙂

Julie

 

* December 2013

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. No Place Like Home | Art by Julie Berthelot - March 19, 2015

Leave a Reply

