S.O.S. Sad Office Syndrome

 

The painting on the far wall of this lawyers' office receiving area is 'Savanna', a 36 x 72 inch acrylic painting from the Urban Forest series.

The painting on the far wall of this lawyers’ office receiving area is ‘Savanna’, a 36 x 72 inch acrylic painting from the Urban Forest series.

I recently went to the bank for a meeting to set up some investments. The man helping me with this was friendly and well dressed, but his office was sad and didn’t make me feel as though I was dealing with the best this company has to offer.

One of the reasons for this was the drab art on the wall. It looked like a painting that may have been nice as an original, but was now a faded print in a crappy frame. Not good. We’ve all seen these in offices, restaurants, hotels and other places, and how does it make us feel . . . sad.

I couldn’t help imagining what a difference a beautiful original piece of artwork would have made in that space, especially since it was otherwise so clean, modern and well organized! (I’m sure this company has some sort of policy in place which encourages their employees to keep a clean desk . . . but WHAT is the wall art policy?!)

This rant could go on, but I’ll move on now to the possibilities this situation presents!

A series of three, yellow rose paintings my mom bought for her office recently. All 20 x 10 inch acrylic paintings from the Urban Forest series.

A series of three, yellow rose paintings my mom bought for her office recently. All 20 x 10 inch acrylic paintings from the Urban Forest series.

Having original and interesting artwork in a space makes people feel like someone cared enough to create a beautiful place for them to meet, eat, and wait (in the case of doctors’ offices. Lol!)   And guess what, business people . . . that is EXACTLY how you want your clients to feel!

This is one of the reasons I chose my current dentist. They are wonderful, friendly people that are very thorough in their work . . . but I didn’t know that going in. What got me in the door was the look of their office on their website. It looked like a place I wanted to be, and I was right! Being in a space that someone took the time to decorate properly and that has a steady flow of new and interesting art on the walls makes me feel like an important person.

The other side of that coin is a doctor’s office I visited a couple of times. The décor was atrocious! Random, old calendars and posters on the wall with edges curling with age. Some of them were movie posters, for some reason. ONE of them was for ‘Hot Tub Time Machine’!!! I’m NOT joking! Basically, this décor was saying, “There . . .  something’s covering the wall . . . happy?”

No, I wasn’t.

My original Urban Forest painting, looking great in an office setting. 36 x 48 inch acrylic painting.

My original Urban Forest painting, looking great in an office setting. 36 x 48 inch acrylic painting.

'Cat Tales' in an office board room. 36 x 72 inch acrylic painting from the Urban Forest series.

‘Cat Tales’ in an office board room. 36 x 72 inch acrylic painting from the Urban Forest series.

And if the first reason to pay attention to what goes on your wall is your client, then a not so distant second should be you! You’re the person that spends 8 hours or more in that space EVERY DAY, in some cases. I’m telling you, your office is one of YOUR spaces! Make it yours and make it a second home that you enjoy being in (as much as possible!)

Calling for an end to sad offices everywhere!!

Julie

 

PS  If you know of any sad offices that could use my help, please let me know! 🙂

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “S.O.S. Sad Office Syndrome”

  1. Carole Berthelot says :

    I really like your write up. Good luck cheering up sad offices. Mom:)

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

